And now for a little Presidential humor…

12Mar07

With just over 600 days left until the Big Day, now’s a good time to take a breather. And what more appropriate venue than a little Presidential humor? Here’s a sampling of the classics….

“A typical vice of AmeriPresident’s can be funnycan politics is the avoidance of saying anything real on real issues.” President Theodore Roosevelt (1901-1909)

“A vote is like a rifle; its usefulness depends upon the character of the user.” President Theodore Roosevelt (1901-1909)

“An atheist is a man who watches a Notre Dame – Southern Methodist University game and doesn’t care who wins.” President Dwight D. Eisenhower (1953-1961)

“Don’t try to take on a new personality; it doesn’t work.” President Richard M. Nixon (1969-1974)

“Richard Nixon was just offered $2 million by Schick to do a television commercial – for Gillette.” President Gerald R. Ford (1974-1977)

“All my children have spoken for themselves since they first learned to speak, and not always with my advance approval, and I expect that to continue in the future.” President Gerald R. Ford (1974-1977)

“I know I am getting better at golf because I am hitting fewer spectators.” Gerald R. Ford (1974-1977)

“I am not going to exploit, for political purposes, my opponent’s youth and inexperience.” President Ronald Reagan (1981-1989) when asked whether age would be a problem in a second term during a 1984 presidential debate with his Democratic opponent, former Vice President Walter Mondale.

“Politics is not a bad profession. If you succeed there are many rewards, if you disgrace yourself you can always write a book.” President Ronald Reagan (1981-1989)

“My fellow Americans, I am pleased to tell you I just signed legislation which outlaws Russia forever. The bombing begins in five minutes.” President Ronald Reagan (1981-1989), said during a radio microphone test in 1984.

“Thomas Jefferson once said, ‘We should never judge a president by his age, only by his works.’ And ever since he told me that, I stopped worrying.” President Ronald Reagan (1981-1989)

“I’ll be glad to reply to or dodge your questions, depending on what I think will help our election most.” President George H. W. Bush (1989-1993)

“I’m not going to have some reporters pawing through our papers. We are the president.” Sen. Hillary Clinton, in 2000 as First Lady. (Though the comments strikes many of us as funny, the Senator may not have intended it that way.)

“I’ll tell you what PAYGO means, when you’re a senator from Massachusetts, when you’re a colleague of Ted Kennedy, pay go means: You pay, and he goes ahead and spends.” President George W. Bush (2001-Present)

“To those of you who received honors, awards and distinctions, I say well done. And to the C students, I say you, too, can be president of the United States.” President George W. Bush (2001-Present)

“Presidential ambition is a disease that can only be cured by embalming fluid.” Sen. John McCain, Presidential candidate

One Response to “And now for a little Presidential humor…”

  1. 1 Seattle

    Love the good humor. Check out http://www.blogs4mccain.com.


Leave a Reply

