Citizen McCain and this blogger’s last hurrah

16Jun07

Last summer, John McCain hiked the Grand Canyon from rim to rim.Well, folks, I’ve just been invited to join the fight. My National Guard unit activated me this week to train troops for deployment to Iraq and Afghanistan. Most likely, I’ll take a trip the sandbox myself this time next year. It’s been a long time coming and I’m anxious to shoulder my fair share of the burden.

Being back in uniform full-time means standing down from political activities, including blogging for my favorite presidential candidate, so this will be my last official blog entry. But my personal support for Sen. McCain will not waiver.

Rarely has a man been so eminently qualified for President. It surprises me that this isn’t obvious to everyone. But then again, maybe I shouldn’t be.

We Americans are a fickle bunch. We ask a lot from our leaders….and when they deliver, we’re more apt to complain than be grateful. Perhaps this perennial dissatisfaction is precisely what drives our Yankee innovativeness. Perhaps skepticism is the superhighway to progress, the mother of invention. But, let’s not allow this “strength” to become our Achilles Heel, to grow into cynicism and despair, and to blind us to the virtues of the here and now…including those inherent in the American dream and those embodied by John McCain.

This blog chronicles many of the Maverick’s virtues. They’re in ample supply and you can read about them by visiting the menu on the right. But one virtue stands out from the rest: his character.

John McCain’s character is time-tested. He bore it silently during his years at the Hanoi Hilton and he bears it again now as he stands-up for (often against a tidal wave of populist pressures) the most important issues of our day: the war in Iraq, climate change, illegal immigration, and the perceived decline of everything American. He leads the way out of a sense of duty, responsibility and humanity, not out of political opportunism. He is a candidate with a vision, a politician with integrity, a man we can trust.

Not surprisingly, he’s also a believer in his fellow human. I’d like to close out this blog with a few passages from John McCain’s most recent book, “Character is Destiny.”

I don’t believe in destiny. We are not born to be one thing or another, left to follow hopelessly the course that was charted for us by some unseen hand, a mysterious alignment of the stars that pulls us in a certain direction, bestowing happiness on some and misfortune on others. The only fate we can not escape is our own mortality. Even a long life is a brief experience. God has given us that life, shown us how to use it, but left it to us to dispose of it as we choose. Our character will determine how well or how poorly we choose.

It is your character, and your character alone, that will make your life happy or unhappy That is all that really passes for destiny. And you choose it…

The best I can claim for my own character is that it is still, even at this late date, a work in progress. The most important thing I have learned, from my parents, my teachers, my faith, from many good people, and from the lives of the people in this book, is to want what they had, integrity, and to feel the sting of my conscience when I have chosen a course that has risked it for some selfish reason. As I am blessed with a naturally optimistic disposition, I’m still working on my character, although I am sixty-eight years old as I write this…

Many good people have suffered for their principles. Some have died for them. But however cruel their end, they were surely comforted by the knowledge that they had made the right choice, and they had had the character to live a good life. Whether anyone knew how great their courage had been would not matter as much to them as the knowledge that they had chosen well, that their cause had been just, and their character worthy of its demands. They did not submit to an inevitable destiny. They believed their values were the power that directs our lives, and lights the world in which we burn our little candle, before our work is done and we take our rest.

I don’t believe in destiny. I believe in character.”

8 Responses to “Citizen McCain and this blogger’s last hurrah”

  1. Good luck to you as you serve our country. Keep safe.

  2. 2 ethan

    Hey best of luck out in the sandbox, keep safe and God bless. Post up some stories if you get the chance.

    p.s. Thanks

  3. Best of luck.

    Steve

  4. 4 Jay E

    I really enjoyed reading your blog on Senator McCain this year. Your enthusiasm and positive attitude are sure to take you far. Good luck!

  5. 5 aakbar

    Missing ya dear!

  6. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Assets.

  7. 7 DK

    Thank you for your patriotism and courage. Also, thanks for your wonderful blog. Good luck, keep safe, and best wishes!


  1. 1 My McCain Blog » McCain Blogger heads out

Leave a Reply

